Fuzzy Coat Inspired Nails

Standard

.                 IMG_2007               IMG_2014

This design was inspired by Sally Hansen Fuzzy Coat- 200 All Yarned Up nail polish that I recently bought. I did a post about it a couple weeks ago: Sally Hansen Fuzzy Coat. As I explained in that post, I hate waiting for nail polish to dry and with this polish you need to apply at least three coats. So in my impatience I came up with these nails so I would get to use the Fuzzy Coat but not have to wait as long as I only have a few nails with it on. To create this look you will need: Sally Hansen Fuzzy Coat (any colour), A base colour polish that matches your fuzzy coat colour, a dotting tool (mine’s homemade), a piece of plastic or a surface to put polish on, cotton balls or tissues, 3 other colours that match your fuzzy coat colour and a shiny top coat.

IMG_2001IMG_2002IMG_2003

Step 1: Apply the base coat colour to all of your nails. I used a mauve colour from Satin and I only needed one coat.

Step 2: Apply the Fuzzy Coat polish to two nails on one hand and two nails on the other hand as well. My Fussy coat colour is ‘All Yarned Up’. I just chose the nails at random, in case you were wondering. You will need to keep applying coats of this as it dries. I did 4 coats and I kinda of skipped the waiting for it to dry step and just applied the coats over each other while it was wet, which resulted in the little glitter like pieces all being pushed up to the tip of my nail. But eventually I got it looking pretty good.

IMG_2004IMG_2006

Step 3: Take your three colours that match your Fuzzy Coat Colour and dab a little of each onto a piece of plastic. With your dotting tool create a line of dots on the remaining nails. Use a cotton ball or tissue so clean the dotting tool between each colour. I used my homemade dotting tool made by sticking a pin into the rubber on the end of a pencil. 

I also don’t have any light pastel coloured polishes that would have matched with the Fuzzy coat so I mixed my polishes. I just dabbed a bit of the colour and white next to each other on the plastic and used my dotting tool to mix it together.

IMG_2009IMG_2010

Step 4: This step is optional if you just want to keep it like that. I just wanted to add a little extra so I chose one nail and covered it all in dots using the same colours from before. I tried to evenly spread out the colours as much as possible, but other than that the dot placement was entirely random.

Step 5: Apply a clear shiny top coat to all of your nails and it’s all done. Have fun!

.               IMG_2008                IMG_2015

One response »

  1. Pingback: Dotted Diagonal French Tips | Nic Nac Nails

Leave a Reply

